Questions about transaction details

Discussion of math, cryptography, protocol, and features

Questions about transaction details

Postby mr_john » Tue Sep 09, 2014 11:12 am

Hi!

Coming from the Bitcoin world I have quite a good understanding of how Bitcoin works in detail but I am new to CryptoNote (but very excited about its features :)). I really got fascinated by the 2 neat tricks for hiding the sender (by using ring-signatures) and hiding the receiver (by using one-time public keys).

Currently I am trying to acquire some deeper understanding of the underlying principles and protocol. I think that I already understood the biggest part of the whitepaper (also dug around in the code) but there are still some open points which don't make sense for me (yet).

So I'd like to ask here some questions for my better understanding:

1)
As I understood each output within a tx has a destination public key. So do I understand correctly that this is the "one time public key", having each output its own "one time public key"?

2)
The one-time key is calculated in this way: "P = Hs(rA)G + B" with being (A,B) the receiver's public key-pair and "r" a randomly chosen number/priv-key. So doesn't this mean that if I have several outputs within a single transaction, which all go to the same receiver (same A|B), that all these outputs have the same one-time public key (assuming that I use the same "r" value for each output within a single tx, which I thought is the case as the public "R" value is only stored once per transaction, within the "extra[]" field of the "tx" struct and not separatly for each output - or did I get something wrong here?)